Posted by: NotAScientist | November 5, 2008

A Sea of Blue…

Obama

Wow.

Just, wow!

I know, the electoral map doesn’t show a complete ‘sea of blue’. But it’s certainly a large ocean of blue. There is no question, no recount, and no argument.

Barack Obama will be the next President of the United States of America.

I voted for him, but I want to make one thing clear. I do not think he is perfect. And I reserve the right to criticize him if he does things I don’t like.

But I can’t shake the optimism I feel on this morning.

Responses

  1. I do feel optimistic this morning, but as I stated on my own blog. We still have a long way to go, the hateful Christers managed to put a ban on gay marriage in 3 states and a ban on gay adoption in 1. If only we had won those. Maybe the courts will stop it?

    FSM only knows..

  2. you mean how prop 8 in my state (CA) was voted in, as well as TWO Others!? i had no idea these people wen’t so far! i feel that the prop 8 will be overturned like the other before it. i mean, in Ca the voted agaist Giving gays marraige status, but voting to Take rights away? Damn, i feel like i ought to be in 1950’s Alabama. It really pisses me off! But i wonder if it really Will be turned over? i certainly hope so, but i hope the court doesn’t slack off and just give up… you would think it would be possible for bigotry to be more or less thrown out, but it seems people have moved from one to the next (*sigh*)

  3. Morsecode, many non-americans also share your optimism re Obama (I for one). He’s got a challenge on his hands but we wish him well. I hope he sticks to his guns and does not get coerced by pressure lobbies to do something quite different to what he intends now.

  4. Seems strange that you would opose a ban on gay marriage since marriage is a Christian bible thing. Never mind that a majority of the people voted to ban it.

  5. “Seems strange that you would opose a ban on gay marriage since marriage is a Christian bible thing.”

    No it’s not. It’s a human thing. Marriage predates the Bible and Christianity. It’s changed constantly over the years. And now it’s changing again.

    “Never mind that a majority of the people voted to ban it.”

    And the majority of people voted to ban interracial marriage. The courts overrode that. And they will do the same to this.


Leave a Reply

Categories

